Thread: BRaw recordung on Video Assist

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30
  1. #21  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    USA N. CA
    Posts
    3,202
    Interesting idea, but you would still a UM 4.6 specific BRaw codec in the new VA. So BMD would still need to implement this. Not sure how much processing was done in the BMD SSD Drive unit for the UM 4.6.
    Cheers
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #22  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by Denny Smith View Post
    Interesting idea, but you would still a UM 4.6 specific BRaw codec in the new VA. So BMD would still need to implement this. Not sure how much processing was done in the BMD SSD Drive unit for the UM 4.6.
    Cheers
    What sensor does the ursa 4.6 have?

    Starman
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #23  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    972
    The ursa mini 4.6k is the same sensor as UMpro G1, and presumably much the same internal processing, which is a big part of the frustration that it has never received a Braw update. I can understand the UM 4k not getting it as it is a different sensor.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #24  
    Senior Member Taikonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3,136
    UM4.6k sensor profiling for BRaw is already done over a year ago. It is just a case of adding that on the new VA for it to record BRaw. Seems BMD is more interested in prioritising none BMD cameras to record BRaw from their VA than their own cameras in their rivaly with Atomos/Apple's Prores Raw. None BMD camera owners who can already use Prores Raw or their own compressed Raw could'nt give a fig about BRaw at least not as much as Blackmagic owners.

    BMD should look after its own customers first!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #25  
    Senior Member Taikonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3,136
    This interview at IBC 3 mins 55s Stuart the BMD rep have made it clear Blackmagic cameras can record BRaw on the new Video Assist. We don't know which Blackmagic camera will be able to do this

    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #26  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    201
    Quote Originally Posted by Taikonaut View Post
    BMD should look after its own customers first!
    Uh huh.
    That's why you have to take a battery off to get your BM camera to power down.
    And everyone complains about BM quality.
    It's because BM cares about their own customers first.
    I would love to see a BM camera introduced that has as few QA issues as the ones introduced by the majors.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #27  
    Senior Member Taikonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3,136
    Quote Originally Posted by RAWlover View Post
    Uh huh.
    That's why you have to take a battery off to get your BM camera to power down.
    And everyone complains about BM quality.
    It's because BM cares about their own customers first.
    I would love to see a BM camera introduced that has as few QA issues as the ones introduced by the majors.
    I wish you quote my post in its entiriety rather than pick a phrase and move it out of context to serve your own agenda.
    What I'm saying is BMD instead of devoting its time prioritising other manufacturere's camera, profiling their sensors, rather than making sure their new VA support BRaw recording for their own cameras bought by their customers.
    If you want to start something off topic about QC feel free to create a new thread and I would be happy to chime in.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #28  
    Senior Member Note Suwanchote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    2,330
    A solid upgrade for the brightness and color
    www.lightformfilm.com
    https://vimeo.com/suwanchote

    follow me on instagram @lightformfilm
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #29  
    Quote Originally Posted by Note Suwanchote View Post
    A solid upgrade for the brightness and color
    Better Batteries, Scopes-Options and USB-C Recording is great as well. I still like my old 5" Video Assist, but Blackmagic wasn´t as kind with Updates for this Model.
    The new 7" Version offers a lot of great functions, while I think the new 5" Version is a bit too expensive in comparison.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #30  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    USA N. CA
    Posts
    3,202
    Yes, for only $200 difference, the 7-inch is a better buy. But the 5-inch fits the bill where smaller is better.
    Cheers
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Blackmagic Video Assist 7" Video Monitor Case
    By alecvez in forum For Sale / Want to Buy
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-04-2018, 05:45 PM
  2. Video Assist and Video Assist 4K discounted
    By MasterOfWombats in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-22-2017, 02:47 PM
  3. Video Assist 2.2 ???
    By dregenthal in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-23-2016, 11:11 PM
  4. New Video Assist
    By stevehall1990 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-06-2016, 01:12 PM
  5. Video Assist
    By vortex271 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-04-2016, 03:07 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •