Thread: BM says Pixel Remapping doesn't yet work on the Pocket 6k

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1 BM says Pixel Remapping doesn't yet work on the Pocket 6k 
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    4
    I recently found all of my pocket 6k footage has a red spot (single pixel) near the center of the frame. Talking to support they were ready to RMA and then informed me that the Pixel Remapping actually does not work on the current firmware for the 6k.

    Has anyone else had any issues like this? A stuck pixel?

    I'm trying to decide what to do. Wait and try the firmware in a couple weeks, or send it in to them. I have the feeling they will just try to pixel remap it correctly and send it back. In that case I'd rather just wait and do it myself.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    USA N. CA
    Posts
    3,202
    BMD can do this now, no telling how long until this is implemented in camera FW update.
    Cheers
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    2,223
    Is this happening on every pocket 6K?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member jambredz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Kingston, Jamaica
    Posts
    4,377
    Surprised this even shipped without this feature.
    Darren Scott
    Freelance Director/Director of Photography


    https://vimeo.com/jambredzvisions/videos
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    2,223
    I'm about to order one but before I do I'd like to know if the new cameras have this fixed or a firmware available soon.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Taikonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3,135
    Camera relaesed before its even ready. Once again it reminds us early adopters are really final beta testers.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    3,110
    Quote Originally Posted by etx View Post
    . Talking to support they were ready to RMA and then informed me that the Pixel Remapping actually does not work on the current firmware for the 6k.

    Has anyone else had any issues like this? A stuck pixel?

    I'm trying to decide what to do. Wait and try the firmware in a couple weeks, or send it in to them. I have the feeling they will just try to pixel remap it correctly and send it back. In that case I'd rather just wait and do it myself.
    That doesn't sound accurate to me.

    When a sensor arrives from the sensor fab it's not unusual for there to be many dead pixels. Let's imagine 20 or 30 as being a normal number. Then over time, even more develop.

    If the pixel re-map wasn't working you'd be seeing a lot more than one dead pixel. A good way to check is to turn the ISO up to a very high setting and then turn on focus peaking on a lens cap. WARNING though this will often show up all the faults of your sensor like marginal or corrected pixels and often noise which would be considered normal and not visible in normal shooting conditions.

    Is the pixel there in ALL situations ? Just in certain situations ? A red spot is also unusual, as a lit pixel tends to be white, a dead pixel is usually darkish. Red means maybe a fault in the LCD itself ? Is it in the footage or just on the screen ?

    Let us know.

    JB
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Detroit, MI
    Posts
    4
    It's not visible on the screen. It's only visible in resolve at 4k or higher. I'll post some screenshots tonight.

    They did say an update is coming in a couple weeks.

    Here is ISO 1000:


    ISO: 25600:


    and this is the very first clip i rolled when I got the 6k. You can see the red spot in the center:


    John, I tried ISO 12800 with focus peaking on Med. That's a nice trick! I actually found one more spot in the sensor in the lower left of the frame. I'm not seeing any other anomalies in the noise pattern beside these two bad spots.

    I tried BRAW and ProRes, upper and lower gain. It's always there.

    Now the interior fan blade seems to be hitting something when I move the camera also. So that's nice. I got a Pocket 4k from the first batch that shipped out and it wasn't nearly this bad. Luck of the draw I guess.
    Last edited by etx; 09-09-2019 at 07:37 PM. Reason: images
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Stuck pixel? Hot pixel?
    By Roman.Aujon in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-29-2019, 10:10 AM
  2. Pocket speedbooster doesn't fit on BMMC
    By spinshot in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 03-31-2016, 05:21 PM
  3. Problem with time remapping and Resolve
    By Hugovandijke in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-30-2016, 12:25 PM
  4. Slower SD cards now work with Pocket Cam?
    By alex1 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-25-2014, 08:35 AM
  5. Hot Pixel / Pocket Camera
    By 4KRS in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 04-11-2014, 05:25 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •