Thread: Corrupt file. major panic right now

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1 Corrupt file. major panic right now 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Southend-on-Sea, UK
    Posts
    272
    On Friday I filmed a very important 30 minute video for a client.

    1080p ProRes HQ 25p. Latest firmware on the URSA mini 4K.

    Towards the end, the recording light on the outside started flashing, and an exclamation mark appeared within the recording symbol on the screen. I couldn't stop the recording, or even turn off the camera. So I pulled the power.

    The file doesn't play on the camera, but it's on the Cfast card (33GB). I copied the file onto my external hard drive.

    I've used various file repair programs to repair the file from the external hard drive.

    - Fix.video produces a 30 min video, and the first 5 mins is OK, then it's glitching and stops around 11 minutes in.
    - Stellar Repair is currently processing as I type this.

    I have no idea what to do now, and I'll be in serious trouble if I can't get this sorted.

    First ever problem for me using the URSA mini 4K, it's normally been OK.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member MiguelFranco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Portugal - Mozambique
    Posts
    462
    Hey Dan, that's really a situation no one wants to be in. I've had my share of corrupt files over the years and hopefully I manged to get them all back using this:

    http://grauonline.de/cms2/?page_id=5

    Never tried with an URSA mini, but give it a try and let me know.

    Good luck
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    566
    Dan, this worked for me once, - it wasn't perfect but very close.

    https://www.minitool.com/data-recovery-software/
    Ursa 4.6k, Pocket Cinema 4k, BMCC, BMPCC, GH4+Metabones, GoPro Hero4 Black, Phantom 2, Canon T3i, Lots of glass.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    566
    P.S. - It won't help now, but in the future consider using something like the Video Assist 5" hooked up and plugged into your ursa, recording as a backup. I've done that on high end jobs because at least it's a backup option should my ursa have an issue.
    Ursa 4.6k, Pocket Cinema 4k, BMCC, BMPCC, GH4+Metabones, GoPro Hero4 Black, Phantom 2, Canon T3i, Lots of glass.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    354
    Quote Originally Posted by marshallbaker View Post
    P.S. - It won't help now, but in the future consider using something like the Video Assist 5" hooked up and plugged into your ursa, recording as a backup. I've done that on high end jobs because at least it's a backup option should my ursa have an issue.
    Second this. I always have a backup recorder running when shooting critical footage like live shows, interviews, events etc
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Mill Valley, CA
    Posts
    48
    Dan, try DiskDrill (free version will let you see if you can access and recover the data, and if you do you pay about $80 for the app). I had a similar issue once shooting ProRes-- no other app would even mount the card, but DiskDrill saved me.

    Good luck.
    Fabián Aguirre
    Cinematographer | Steadicam Operator | Naturalist
    The Understory
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Note Suwanchote's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    2,321
    Look up testdisk on windows. That and DiskDrill have worked well for me! Hope it all works out!
    www.lightformfilm.com
    https://vimeo.com/suwanchote

    follow me on instagram @lightformfilm
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member Asyndeton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    426
    I can also verify that Diskdrill has worked for me in the past, as well as R-Studio on both Windows and Mac.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    2,049
    Does anyone know if DiskDrill will also work on hard drives with corrupt Linux file systems that can't even be mounted? I just want to recover image files that's on the drive. Thanks.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member Asyndeton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    426
    I haven't used it for Linux but their website claims it can recover Linux files with either the Mac or Windows version, but there's no version that can run on Linux yet: https://www.cleverfiles.com/linux-data-recovery.html
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Help - corrupt MOV file...
    By MontyMoose in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2016, 09:56 AM
  2. Corrupt SD and footage from Pocket
    By vicharris in forum Workflow
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-27-2014, 11:11 PM
  3. What's this? Corrupt frames?
    By jambredz in forum Footage / Frames
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-26-2014, 11:56 AM
  4. Pro Res Corrupt Clips
    By nico in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-21-2013, 09:18 PM
  5. Red are in a Panic
    By AndrewDeme in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-04-2012, 02:35 AM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •