Thread: DeckLink Mini Monitor 4K and Da Vinci Resolve 15.3

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1 DeckLink Mini Monitor 4K and Da Vinci Resolve 15.3 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    2,147
    I have been using Da Vinci Resolve for years now but my setup was just with a dual monitor. For reference, I use a different monitor that is not connected to my Resolve computer.

    Recently, I bought a DeckLink mini-monitor 4K and installed it. My 2 workstation monitors are still connected to a graphics card as before. But now I have the reference monitor connected to the DeckLink via HMDI.

    Here are my questions:
    (1) I am unable to access the reference monitor via Windows 10 OS. It only comes on when I'm in Resolve playback mode. Is this normal? If not, what am I doing wrong?

    (2) How do I calibrate the reference monitor if I can only access it via Resolve? I have Spyder 5 which I use to calibrate the dual monitors attached to the GPU card. Is there other way to calibrate the reference monitor connected to the DeckLink?

    (3) Should I calibrate the dual monitors to match the reference monitor or is it the other way around?

    I previously posted this in the BMD forum but so far no one has answered it. I'm assuming this is pretty common.

    Thanks!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    397
    You plug the reference monitor in to both the computer and the decklink. Switch inputs to the decklink when you move to resolve.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    2,147
    Quote Originally Posted by GeranSimpson View Post
    You plug the reference monitor in to both the computer and the decklink. Switch inputs to the decklink when you move to resolve.
    Sorry to ask such a Noob question about DeckLink and I thought of doing what you suggest. So to calibrate the monitor you have it switch to the computer instead of via DeckLink. Will that calibrate the monitor correctly for output coming from the DeckLink?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    397
    Calibration of the monitor would come from the controls on the monitor itself. I have also heard of displays that have an method to interface so they are calibrated at the hardware level but that’s beyond my knowledge.

    You can also calibrate it via the desktop but I’m not sure those settings carry over from different inputs.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Asyndeton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    441
    The reason you use the decklink is to bypass the OS sending any unwanted color information to the monitor, among other things.

    To calibrate the monitor properly, you want to do it connected to the decklink and use a software like Calman. During the process, the program will interface with you calibrator and also connect to Resolve via your local IP address. Resolve will then display a color pattern generator and Calman will make a 3D Cube LUT or whatever you need for your monitor. Then it's just a matter of if your monitor can accept 3D LUTs, or you can set the LUT in Resolve's color management settings to send to your video monitor.

    There a lot of tutorials out there that will guide you through the process.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    2,147
    Quote Originally Posted by Asyndeton View Post
    The reason you use the decklink is to bypass the OS sending any unwanted color information to the monitor, among other things.

    To calibrate the monitor properly, you want to do it connected to the decklink and use a software like Calman. During the process, the program will interface with you calibrator and also connect to Resolve via your local IP address. Resolve will then display a color pattern generator and Calman will make a 3D Cube LUT or whatever you need for your monitor. Then it's just a matter of if your monitor can accept 3D LUTs, or you can set the LUT in Resolve's color management settings to send to your video monitor.

    There a lot of tutorials out there that will guide you through the process.
    Thanks Darren. I think what you said about DeckLink and bypassing the OS is correct so I would not want to calibrate via the OS. I will look into the Calman software. I'm not sure if it will recognize the DeckLink or works with Resolve but from what you said that may be the way to do it. If you have a tutorial that you recommend I watch, appreciate if you can share the link. Again, thanks.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. DeckLink Mini Monitor 4K
    By AaronChicago in forum For Sale / Want to Buy
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-25-2018, 07:32 AM
  2. Resolve 14 + Decklink Monitor
    By GeranSimpson in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-10-2018, 12:27 AM
  3. Blackmagic Decklink Mini Monitor
    By scorsesefan in forum For Sale / Want to Buy
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-22-2017, 04:10 PM
  4. Extra connector on Decklink Mini Monitor?
    By Kevin Marshall in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2013, 03:07 PM
  5. Decklink Mini Monitor $145
    By Kevin Marshall in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-13-2013, 03:54 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •