Thread: resolve suite, screen choice.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1 resolve suite, screen choice. 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    134
    I would like to setup a simple suite that I use at home for editing and grading my own jobs. Its not a specialist suite, but I would like to get it working pretty right. Every now and then I have a client in there. But we will also use it as the TV room for the kids.

    So I would like to have a monitor that close too colour accurate thats 1080p, and have I can use one of those little Blackmagic boxes out of thunderbolt for this.

    But how can I play full screen 4k to a large tv screen I have for watching large (and TV when not a suite).

    Is there a simple way, or do I need too buy an expensive 4k Blackmagic box and only be able to view fullscreen when in resolve?

    Thanks for any help, cheers Paul
    Paul Ross Jones


    -------------------------
    www.paulrossjones.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member DPStewart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    The Puget Sound
    Posts
    3,645
    I see a video source switching box somewhere in this equation.

    That's always a complaint - that the BMD interfaced monitor won't display most other sources from the computer.
    Plus, if you want the color accurate signal going to the 4K TV to be in 4K, then a 4K BMD interface is required. Can't get around that.

    I'm curious as to what specific hardware arrangements might be suggested by folks who are running a set up with similar requirements.
    Cameras: Blackmagic Cinema Camera, Blackmagic Pocket Camera (x2), Panasonic GH2 (x2), Sony RX100 ii, Canon 6D, Canon T2i,
    Mics: Sennheiser, AKG, Shure, Sanken, Audio-Technica, Audix
    Lights: Every Chinese clone you can imagine
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    173
    a popular choice is the LG C8 @ 55", that CAN be callibrated accuratly for 709, so covers off the screen accuracy thing.. now to get the room + screen callibrated is another can of worms all together

    it has mutiple inputs, so one HDMI in driven by your cable box, one HDMI in driven by a BMD decklink 4k mini, and use the remote to switch

    we sometimes use my home Resolve / MC / mamba / Fusion suite to watch films on the Sony Broadcast mon, but the room is really set up for real work, not play;
    DSC01828.jpg

    on the good side projects travel between my hero suite, home spare room and back transparently, so i get alot of high value work done at home.. like a trim pass through the film you see on the screen

    on the bad side, it's a bunch of shuffleing about to make it a tv room, the Sony is true broadcast mon, so nothing but SDI inputs meaning i have to rip anything and play it back through Resolve

    no space for a 55" in the spare bedroom/workroom in our condo
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    134
    Quote Originally Posted by dermot shane View Post
    a popular choice is the LG C8 @ 55", that CAN be callibrated accuratly for 709, so covers off the screen accuracy thing.. now to get the room + screen callibrated is another can of worms all together

    it has mutiple inputs, so one HDMI in driven by your cable box, one HDMI in driven by a BMD decklink 4k mini, and use the remote to switch

    we sometimes use my home Resolve / MC / mamba / Fusion suite to watch films on the Sony Broadcast mon, but the room is really set up for real work, not play;


    Hi Derot,



    on the good side projects travel between my hero suite, home spare room and back transparently, so i get alot of high value work done at home.. like a trim pass through the film you see on the screen

    on the bad side, it's a bunch of shuffleing about to make it a tv room, the Sony is true broadcast mon, so nothing but SDI inputs meaning i have to rip anything and play it back through Resolve

    no space for a 55" in the spare bedroom/workroom in our condo

    thanks for this.

    I am not sure exactly the parts I need.

    Sorry, I find all this post stuff confusing.

    Can you help me with each part? I couldn't find the type of LG screen you recommended.

    From my iMac (which I am purchasing an egpu for soon)

    I would like to monitor the video in 1080p from resolve on a cheap but colour accurate monitor. What would I need from my iMac to do this from Blackmagic?

    I would like to view my video feed, possibly at the same time in 4k from my iMac to a big screen in my lounge. I don't want just a extended desktop, but a proper single feed.

    On top, I would like my kids to use the big TV to watch net flicks on the big tv at other times. What can I use as some kind of video switcher ?

    Thanks heaps for your help.

    Cheers Paul
    Paul Ross Jones


    -------------------------
    www.paulrossjones.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    173
    i'm not all that up on iMac's, i use a PCIE card in my workstation... i belive there's a similar external Tb box with a card for Mac's not sure what it's called or costs tho

    i would send the output of Resolve via the I/O card's HDMI output to the C8, the C8 has direct connection to Netflix already built into it's wireless connections menu;

    https://www.bestbuy.ca/en-ca/product...E&gclsrc=aw.ds
    Last edited by dermot shane; 01-13-2019 at 06:41 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,135
    If your Mac has TB3, there are a lot of boxes, not only the expensive eGPU by BM. Check egpu.io
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    877
    There is still no thunderbolt 3 ultra studio mini monitor 4K so the only way monitor 4K from an iMac is with the $1000 ultra studio 4K box unless a deck link card will work in a PCI expansion box. I have no idea if you can monitor 2 different hardware outputs at different resolutions at the same time, I guess not, but that is what the configuration section of the manual is for. If you use the existing thunderbolt mini monitor for 1080 out you will need to get the apple t3-t2 adapter. It is the only one that works, the generic USB c to mini display port adapters do not, but you will need that if you have any GUI monitors that connect to mini display port or have adapted to that from dvi. The t3-t2 adapter does not carry a display port signal, it is only for thunderbolt devices.

    Pick an output resolution and get splitter to send same signal to office screen and tv room. If you happen to have an SDI monitor in your office then you're gold as the blackmagic boxes have both sdi and hdmi outs so just cable from each
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    2,053
    I use a couple of LG 27" monitors and an LG LED TV/Monitor with a DeckLink card. My 2 resolve monitors go to my GPU card and one of the LG LED TV HDMI goes to the Decklink card. The other HDMI goes to a cable box for regular cable view. Works just fine for me.

    DC872BE62D30499D9762A010D5B2FDF7.jpg
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Green Screen help in Resolve 12
    By ChristianHubbard in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-25-2015, 08:56 PM
  2. Resolve screen grab to Jpeg
    By Taikonaut in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-24-2014, 12:43 PM
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-02-2014, 01:45 PM
  4. Whats your grading suite lighting like?
    By jambredz in forum Workflow
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-23-2013, 01:13 PM
  5. Best price for Adobe CS6 Production suite
    By FredP in forum Workflow
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-13-2012, 05:43 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •