Thread: Better quality h264 renders

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1 Better quality h264 renders 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    509
    Hello,

    Is it possible for resolve to render out better quality h264 files? As I compare DNxHD and h264, the qualilty loss is HUGE. Not sure if other NLE's have better quality h264, but this is almost unusable for me. Would be great if that could be looked into, or send me some tips how to improve h264 renders from resolve.

    Thanks,
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member shijan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Odesa, UA
    Posts
    925
    use HandBrake app https://handbrake.fr
    All my custom made accessories for BMMCC/BMMSC now available here https://lavky.com/radioproektor/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Which version of Resolve are you on? I had a lot of trouble getting 14 (maybe 12 too?) to respect the bitrate settings i chose (would choose, eg, 60000 and the render would be way way less than that). So on 14 I would render cineform in resolve and thenb h.264 elsewhere.

    15 seems to have resolved this for me.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    509
    Resolve 15
    Def not for me.
    Ill try handbrake.

    thx!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member shijan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Odesa, UA
    Posts
    925
    It just a huge waste of time to compress to h264 directly from NLE. Usually h264 compression methods in NLEs are very primitive. h264 compression may be done in very different ways. Sometimes it needs double pass calculation which will double project render time and may take a while if there is a lot of plugins and layers in NLE project. More efficient method is do a single master render to quick and simple ProRes codec from NLE and then experiment with h264 settings and compression methods in other dedicated app with advanced settings.
    All my custom made accessories for BMMCC/BMMSC now available here https://lavky.com/radioproektor/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    509
    Quote Originally Posted by shijan View Post
    It just a huge waste of time to compress to h264 directly from NLE. Usually h264 compression methods in NLEs are very primitive. h264 compression may be done in very different ways. Sometimes it needs double pass calculation which will double project render time and may take a while if there is a lot of plugins and layers in NLE project. More efficient method is do a single master render to quick and simple ProRes codec from NLE and then experiment with h264 settings and compression methods in other dedicated app with advanced settings.
    Thanks, did not know that. And guess not many people will know that. As every freelancer I know just renders out h264 from Premiere, Adobe encoder or resolve, maybe Adobe media encoder is a bit better?? Well on windows its not possible to render to prores, so DNxHD is the way to go. Still need to test handbrake though.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Quote Originally Posted by shijan View Post
    It just a huge waste of time to compress to h264 directly from NLE.
    obviously no technological reason that needs to be true.... handbrake is ffmpeg which any NLE could (and possibly do) implement if they wanted.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. To DAVINCI RESOLVE TEAM - Please Support H264 Level 5.2
    By Ralph B in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-04-2017, 12:52 AM
  2. 10 bit H264
    By Greg Pickering in forum Workflow
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-31-2016, 06:25 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-20-2014, 07:16 AM
  4. new h264 codec
    By Eli Hershko in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-18-2013, 10:01 PM
  5. RESOLVE V. 9 - missing frames in renders
    By Brad Ferrell in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-29-2013, 09:36 AM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •