Thread: RAW does make a big difference in dynamic range on Pocket 4K...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1 RAW does make a big difference in dynamic range on Pocket 4K... 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    206
    Good news (it seems) from this test. For me, a HUGE element of whether this camera is "worth it" over the GH5 (which I also own), is whether there's really any benefit to shooting RAW, like there was with the Pocket V1. Especially considering the fact that this sensor is in at least one other camera (the GH5s), did Blackmagic squeeze anything out of that sensor that maybe the GH5s DIDN'T? Well, this test doesn't directly answer that, but it implies an answer, with the apparent highlight recovery that is still possible in RAW vs. ProRes.

    Jump straight to 14:40 in to see his findings on dynamic range in RAW vs. ProRes...

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=65ralgQ_AoU
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Taikonaut's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2,844
    We were repeately told by those close to BMD that the P4K dont use the same sensor as the GH5/GH5s.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    The difference in latitude between prores and raw wasn't too important with the original Pocket. Around half a stop if I remember well.
    Álex Montoya on Vimeo
    https://vimeo.com/alexmontoyamelia
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    110
    He was using highlight recovery so all that means is that not all of the channels were clipped. This doesn't say much about the dynamic range of ProRes or RAW, it just that Resolve only has a highlight recovery option for RAW. If Resolve enabled t his option for ProRes then it could do something similar as well.

    Of course, the higher bit-depth of RAW would still give it an advantage in doing that that though.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    170
    "If Resolve enabled t his option for ProRes" ... not possible.

    And "highlight recovery" will also not be possible in "black magic raw".
    Just sayin.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member DPStewart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    The Puget Sound
    Posts
    3,489
    I thought highlight recovery IS possible with the new B-RAW. Is it not? Haven't used it myself.

    Hate to be a broken record here again...but even if BMD did use the same sensor as some other camera - that has almost NOTHING to do with how the outputted images will look.
    In fact it's almost the same as saying that two drastically different cars will perform the same because they each have the same motor in them.

    RAW vs. ProRes on the original Pocket camera was never really an issue of Dynamic Range. It was just an overall image quality improvement.
    Cameras: Blackmagic Cinema Camera, Blackmagic Pocket Camera (x2), Panasonic GH2 (x2), Sony RX100 ii, Canon 6D, Canon T2i,
    Mics: Sennheiser, AKG, Shure, Sanken, Audio-Technica, Audix
    Lights: Every Chinese clone you can imagine
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by Taikonaut View Post
    We were repeately told by those close to BMD that the P4K dont use the same sensor as the GH5/GH5s.
    No, they very coyly said, it doesn't use the same "part number". Which doesn't mean it isn't the same sensor.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Quote Originally Posted by S_Berger View Post
    And "highlight recovery" will also not be possible in "black magic raw".
    Just sayin.
    Why is it not possible?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    What I hope is that BRaw makes a difference in the noise in the shadows and we can gain a stop in the highlights by under exposing.
    Álex Montoya on Vimeo
    https://vimeo.com/alexmontoyamelia
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member Asyndeton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    368
    Quote Originally Posted by S_Berger View Post
    "If Resolve enabled t his option for ProRes" ... not possible.

    And "highlight recovery" will also not be possible in "black magic raw".
    Just sayin.
    It won't? BRAW is still in BETA, they'll add more tools to the RAW controls. Captain Hook has posted that the primary highlight tools essentially work just the same as the 'highlight recovery' in the CDNG RAW tools.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic Range - BMPCC
    By Meiereika in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-19-2017, 10:29 AM
  2. GH4 Has More Dynamic Range Than You Think
    By Joshua Cadmium in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-02-2014, 02:03 PM
  3. 4K Dynamic Range
    By mrbrycel in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-26-2013, 10:19 AM
  4. What difference does a lens make - Zeiss vs. Canon
    By Frank Glencairn in forum Lens Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-25-2012, 07:32 AM
  5. Dynamic Range Difference
    By nickjbedford in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 07-10-2012, 04:34 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •