Thread: Make RAW look Like ProRes

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1 Make RAW look Like ProRes 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    185
    H All

    Does anyone have any links or instruction to how to make BlackMagics BMPC4K, look like the prores it outputs? Prores has the perfect film look to me while RAW has just a clinical documentary?? look!

    Raw also plays back straight from the SSD while for my system there is no smooth Prores 4k playback. I'm at the beginning in my Grading ventures so, not quite sure how to tackal this, having acess to premiere and davinci. Thanks ao much!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    608
    Are you speaking of after you've graded you find prores more appealing than raw? I know prores differs slightly from raw out of camera but if graded similarly with correct white balances I wouldn't think they'd be dramatically too different?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    316
    Quote Originally Posted by pringleman View Post
    H All
    Prores has the perfect film look to me while RAW has just a clinical documentary?? look!
    What's your RAW workflow? There really shouldn't be much of a visual difference.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member DPStewart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    The Puget Sound
    Posts
    3,436
    This has been noticed before on other BMD cameras and a "preset" can be made to do just this.

    Here is the discussion and the instructions. It looks long and complicated but most of that is just the explanation.
    The fix is basically just using a standard COLORCHECKER card making a preset that you can drop in a node in Resolve.
    A couple of minor adjustments from the drop-down menus are in there too so read it thoroughly.

    I'm not sure this will also work the same for BMPC4k RAW, but the principle is sound, so it should.

    http://bmcuser.com/showthread.php?20...a-vs-GH5/page5
    Cameras: Blackmagic Cinema Camera, Blackmagic Pocket Camera (x2), Panasonic GH2 (x2), Sony RX100 ii, Canon 6D, Canon T2i,
    Mics: Sennheiser, AKG, Shure, Sanken, Audio-Technica, Audix
    Lights: Every Chinese clone you can imagine
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    227
    Sounds like you are debayering your raw footage into a video gamut and gamma like rec709. Recent Resolve versions will default to the appropriate BMDFilm variant (which is the same look as film mode ProRes), but older Resolve and, iirc, Premiere won't.

    Here is where the raw options for gamut and gamma are in Resolve:
    https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/d...071c0dfac1939a
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Can someone make this LUT?
    By robbing in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-11-2014, 06:12 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2013, 11:48 AM
  3. MFT - make more!
    By morgan_moore in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 76
    Last Post: 12-17-2012, 03:34 PM
  4. I don't know what to make of this.
    By David in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-03-2012, 08:35 PM
  5. Replies: 60
    Last Post: 11-02-2012, 09:53 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •