Thread: Finally get to play with UMPro!

1. #1 Finally get to play with UMPro! 
    So after 2 features with pockets the producer/director team I work with has sprung for UMPro. Anything significant to learn or worry about? I'm old enough to remember ENG cameras so I'll know what most of the buttons and filter wheels are for.

Is there a best method for incorporating footage from pocket and Bmcc if the finish is HD UMPro will step up to A camera obviously. We have always shot ProRes so I'm thinking 2k 444 might be ok until a project demands 4K or better, or would stepping up to raw give a better chance at matching the colour of the various cameras. I'm thinking getting a passport colour chart is a must at this point.

I must say I'm looking forward to stripping all the rigging off my pocket and just using it for fun with a loupe.

Speaking as a finishing editor, I've finished and delivered feature films in UHD and 2k flat DCP as well as FHD. Depending on how deep your post-production and memory management pockets are, and your deadlines, I've always recommended RAW throughout, from 4k UMP and BMPCC 4k (not BMCC or Pockets though, at least in my pipelines thus far, though if I'm editing in Resolve as well as CC'ing then I don't foresee any huge matching problems, the footage being properly lit and exposed). I've recently managed to push through a feature film shot entirely on BMD gear, and several short films, to industry deliverable QC levels, no problems.

In FHD I'd say that both the BMCC and the Pocket would do acceptably well, the shared color space making matching easier, at least in color timing (and again, no run-and-gun with fast action at midnight in a forest with no lighting, and yes, I've seen people try that and ask me to "quick fix it".)