Thread: Looking to start film scoring, what do I need?

1. #1 Looking to start film scoring, what do I need? 
    Hey guys,

I'm looking into what I'd need in order to create film scores and have a couple questions.

Looking to start as cheap as possible to learn the ground works.

I have a subscription to Adobe CC for editing work but unfortunately they don't seem to have a program that fits my need. I've seen that Avid's Pro Tools is highly regarded and seen quite a few different programs mentioned. What's a good option in terms of low entry price vs quality?

For a Midi device, Whats the difference between getting a midi keyboard vs a midi synth? which do I need for starting out? Any suggestions on the model with price in mind?

Last but not least. I have zero ability to play an actual instrument but I do have an ear for music. What are the odds of me being able to create a soundtrack simply by using the program and keyboard alone?

Thank you in advance!
    Ryan.

I don’t know, if you found your answer by now.

Here’s somethings to consider:

What kind of music are you making? When you say score, you mean strictly orchestral? Music in movies is pretty open-ended and you may find your self falling into various genres and forms of sound design.

There’s plenty of DAW (digital audio workstations) on the market. Most of them have demos, if not all.
    Reaper is a very affordable daw. They have music notation and score to video features. https://www.reaper.fm/purchase.php

The daws I personally use are Bitwig and FL Studio. These daws have plugins with built in features that are only native to the respective program. That doesn’t describe much, but in actual use it provides powerful sound design and automation abilities. So, from a strictly sound design aspect, these daws are the top two for my uses.