Thread: HLG in Resolve

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1 HLG in Resolve 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    810
    I normally shoot in VLogL on the GH5 but I decided to give HLG a try. I cannot wrap my mind around what is going on with that profile. There's an option for HLG color space timeline in Resolve, but there's no option for HLG output color space. Rec2020 and Rec2100 looks wonky with messed up colors. Rec709 looks fine, but I'm just trying to figure out what's the advantage of HLG if there's no HLG output gamma.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,910
    To the best of my understanding, which is admittedly limited, HLG is an input side process, where the signal is encoded using both a log and gamma curve. It is designed to be compatible with SDR displays so effectively the output gamma is Rec709. If your timeline is properly configured for HLG then there should be no difference between monitoring and output for SDR displays.

    HLG is a stepping stone/process to get more "perceived" DR out of Rec 709 and SDR sets by using a defined non-linear transfer function.

    Rec709
    Rec709.jpg

    HLG, linear at the bottom, log on top
    HLG Encoding.jpg
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    810
    Interesting. I've been doing some testing in a Rec709 timeline with HLG input set to Rec2100, and VLog L set to V Gamut. I'm not 100% sure yet but there appears to be more DR with HLG even when exporting Rec709 and watching on an SDR monitor.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,910
    Could very well be. The V log curve is very aggressive and doesn't use the full 10 bit range, more like 9 and change.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. XML From Resolve to Premiere then back to Resolve Question
    By WiredInside in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-26-2016, 12:50 AM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-29-2015, 02:44 AM
  3. Does it cost money to upgrade from Resolve 9 to Resolve 10?
    By Asladek in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2014, 01:15 AM
  4. Resolve Lite AND Full Resolve on same machine ?
    By pacman829 in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-10-2013, 10:39 AM
  5. Resolve>fcpx>resolve workflow video?
    By KyleMcConaghy in forum Workflow
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-19-2013, 11:17 AM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •