Thread: BMMCC vs BMMSC

1. #1 BMMCC vs BMMSC 
    I have been searching the forum and can't find the answer to my questions regarding the image quality of the BMMCC vs BMMSC. The form factor is great on these, and it appears that BM made some improvements over the Pocket.

I will note that I purchased the BM Video Assist 4K on the summer special, which on the surface it seems that I should go with the Studio, however, there are things I wish to know.

(Apologies if some of these Qs are rudimentary. I am still learning about each of these cameras)

I am making short films and want my final product to be as cinematic as possible. Does the Studio camera also have Film Mode? If so, is it only when shooting HD, or is it available in 4K? or will shooting 4K in 24fps be enough for a film look?

I see that the Studio camera has 11 stops of dynamic range, as opposed to the 13 of the Cinema camera. Is that a serious downside to making the footage as filmic as possible?

Are there any other considerations to take in account that might make one choose one camera over the other?

thanks.

I would not get the studio camera if I were not working in a studio that needed hidden cameras. It's named studio because studios are usually very well lit with an overhead light grid and all the cameras are wired through some kind of recording hardware or a switcher for broadcasting. With that in mind, the lighting is all very consistent and therefore very little if any color correction is needed. It could have 9 stops and would still be fine. You will have some difficulty getting cinematic images with one of these cameras if you are not working with thousands of dollars of lighting equipment. There is no "film" mode.

You want the micro cinema camera, cinema camera, production camera, or ursa mini if you plan on getting singlecam style cinematic images.

This is my favorite review on the studio cam
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIo6t4DWYEk