Thread: Upgrade my PC step by step for Resolve

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1 Upgrade my PC step by step for Resolve 
    Hey people,

    I am a student filmmaker, low budget, you know what I am talking about. I just recently discovered my old gaming PC as a colorgrading and editing machine after spending the last 2 years with a good laptop.
    Turns out the almost 7 old pc is acutally faster than the Laptop.

    So I have an
    Asus M4A88TD V USB3 Motherboard
    AMD X4 Phenom 955 Quadcore CPU
    NVIDIA GTX570 Graphics Card
    8GB RAM
    San Disk 128GB Windwos Drive
    additional 128GB SanDisk Drive
    Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD
    BeQuiet 500W Powersupply



    I do not really know how to start. I have a budget to upgrade one component, but which one would be the wisest to start with?

    Thanks
    Tim
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Asyndeton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    201
    I'm not very familiar with AMD processors since I've never owned a system with one but I would look into what are some of the better options for your motherboard's chipset. But 1.25GB of GPU ram isn't going to get you anywhere nowadays. You can find GTX 1060 6GB's for around $300 on Ebay. A lot of the newer GTX's are out of stock or overpriced at the moment thanks to cryptominers. RAM also seems to be a little pricier than usual right now but you can maybe upgrade to 2x8GB for 16GB of DDR3 (make sure you're getting what your motherboard supports, it maxes out at 2000mhz) for a little less than $100.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    If I had your setup I would be focusing on improving the GPU as best I could afford within my power supply limits and adding more storage space. I'd run out so fast with that amount of space. I have 3 500GB SSDs for editing and then a 1TB hard drive for renders, stills, storage, additional software etc.

    It all depends on your budget.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Thanks guys! Ithought resolve was much more CPU intensive?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    101
    CPU is used for decpompressing/debayering/compressing, typicaly i see on a 20 core/40 thread dual xeon machine the CPU's running around 10% unless rendering/ exporting / caching, but i always use soruce caches and no not debayer on the fly in my prefered workflow\\when rendering i see the CPU's at near 100% across all 40 threads, unless the source or target disks are too slow
    Last edited by dermot shane; 07-14-2017 at 09:46 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member ugafan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    264
    if you can afford only one component, get this. $260
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IPVSGEC/?tag=pcpapi-20

    it will definitely help, you're you're still going to be bottlenecked by your old cpu. to upgrade that you will also need to get a new motherboard and ram. this a very nice combo.
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Combo...=Combo.3556940
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. STEP DOWN RINGS - LA area
    By father_v in forum For Sale / Want to Buy
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-04-2016, 08:16 PM
  2. SLR Magic 25mm f0.95 with 77 step ring
    By griplimited in forum For Sale / Want to Buy
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-20-2013, 05:32 PM
  3. step by step cineform conversion for mac
    By vegetableman in forum Workflow
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-12-2013, 07:01 PM
  4. Nd filter Step Up or Step down?
    By pat in forum Lens Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-16-2013, 06:07 PM
  5. Can Step-Up Rings Cause Reflection Problems?
    By Simon Shasha in forum Lens Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-20-2012, 01:33 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •