Thread: Steadicam vs. Gimble

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1 Steadicam vs. Gimbal 
    For the last week or so I have done a lot of research (in particular on YouTube) regarding the pros and cons of steadicams (as in the cheapo knock-offs from China that don't require a west) versus gimbals (3-axis electronic stabilisers). During this research I have searched for affordable alternatives, and the one model that has come forward as a very attractive alternative is the Zhiyun Crane v2, put against my favorite amongst affordable and high quality steadicams, the Laing P-04S. I don't own any of these models, and thus only can rely on second hand sources. I have never worked or held a gimbal in my hand. But I have some breif experience of a very cheap steadicam, the FlyCam HD-3000 (a knock-off of the GlideCam knock-off of SteadiCam). The FlyCam didn't work well with my Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera and lens combo, and I didn't particularlity like that model, but I got a first hand sense of the potential and challanges of steadicam operation, as can bee seen in this clip.

I have searched the forum for a similar tread, but the only one I did come across dealt with the URSA Mini. My needs are towards the Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera, i.e. a lightweight solution of stabiliser system. Although my own research revolves around the Laing and Zhiyun, this thread rather addresses the subject from a more general standpoint, not to these particular brands per se. However, the requirement is a small and lightweight cinema camera (such as the BMPCC or BMMCC). Also, I want to address the most affordable alternatives, i.e. bang-for-the-buck solutions that offer cheap alternatives of high quality prosumer models. Hence my personal choice of the Laing P-04S (which is considered by many to be a better stedicam than the cheaper GlideCam models) and Zhiyun Crane (which seems to be optimized for the BMPCC and BMMCC amongst the BMD cameras).