Thread: Using the Tangent Ripple Panel with Da Vinci Resolve

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 48
  1. #1 Using the Tangent Ripple Panel with Da Vinci Resolve 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    1,521
    I am looking at getting the Tangent Ripple for use with Resolve but have read mixed reviews. From what I can surmise the Pro are the track balls and the Con are the "A" button not able to program on Resolve, and limited ability to program the buttons to map to Resolve functions. Does anyone here use the Tangent Ripple? If so, how do you work around the button limitations or has Tangent improve their mapping/programming of the buttons at all? What are your experiences and can you recommend this product?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    332
    Quote Originally Posted by EYu View Post
    I am looking at getting the Tangent Ripple for use with Resolve but have read mixed reviews. From what I can surmise the Pro are the track balls and the Con are the "A" button not able to program on Resolve, and limited ability to program the buttons to map to Resolve functions. Does anyone here use the Tangent Ripple? If so, how do you work around the button limitations or has Tangent improve their mapping/programming of the buttons at all? What are your experiences and can you recommend this product?
    EYu,

    I've had the Tangent Ripple since it came out and it does a great job for simple color grading projects. You can't program the A button at all. The work around is that you can add the Tangent Element-Vs Tablet App for $99 and you can use all the functions of the Tangent Element control surface. You can combine the Ripple and the tablet App and now you have the full Element Control surface with hands-on track balls.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    1,521
    Thanks Bino. I believe the trial for the tablet app is free. I'll try it out and see how usable is it, including its simulated trackballs.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    332
    Quote Originally Posted by EYu View Post
    Thanks Bino. I believe the trial for the tablet app is free. I'll try it out and see how usable is it, including its simulated trackballs.
    You're welcome!
    It's not a trial. You can use the full functions of the App everyday for an hour. I used it everyday for 6 months for an hour before I bought it. I bought it after I bought the Ripple.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    532
    I have found the ripple certainly quicker and more accurate than the mouse or tablet but I have never used a full setup so could not comment with respect to that. I don't really like the tablet app as it requires looking away from the monitors and unlike a keyboard offers no feedback.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    1,521
    I looked at the Tangent tablet app and although it does not have that tactile feel it looks like worth checking out. It supports Android tablets and since I have an old 10.1" Android tablet that I could update the OS, I will give that a try. I'm thinking that with a 10.1" seen area, the buttons and trackballs will be comfortably sized for my fingertips. I can try it out with the free and if I like it, $99 for the app isn't steep and even if I have had to buy a knockoff 10.1" Android tablet, that will set me back another $70. It still comes out cheaper. I can also use it with Premier Pro as I read it is supported.

    @Bino, I understand that it is a bit slow. What's your experience with its responsiveness?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    502
    Dumb question, but the panels all have three balls, but resolve has 4 in the software, one for global adjustments. I tend to use the forth a lot after applying a basic lut to tweek exposure and white balance when roughing in a basic look. Can the third ball be set up to toggle between the two with a button push, or are you still stuck on mouse for global adjustments. I suppose I could answer myself with the tablet, just curious.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    1,521
    Quote Originally Posted by dop16mm View Post
    Dumb question, but the panels all have three balls, but resolve has 4 in the software, one for global adjustments. I tend to use the forth a lot after applying a basic lut to tweek exposure and white balance when roughing in a basic look. Can the third ball be set up to toggle between the two with a button push, or are you still stuck on mouse for global adjustments. I suppose I could answer myself with the tablet, just curious.
    Actually a good question. I had to check too and if I am not mistaken from what I read on their manual, the Master Offset can be accessed as follows:
    From the Bt Panel - Select Menu A -> Select 'Primary' button
    From the Kb Panel - Select Menu B -> Make adjustment using the 'Master Offset' knob

    I stand corrected so if anyone else know please chime in.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    332
    Quote Originally Posted by dop16mm View Post
    Dumb question, but the panels all have three balls, but resolve has 4 in the software, one for global adjustments. I tend to use the forth a lot after applying a basic lut to tweek exposure and white balance when roughing in a basic look. Can the third ball be set up to toggle between the two with a button push, or are you still stuck on mouse for global adjustments. I suppose I could answer myself with the tablet, just curious.
    The answer is.......nope. You have to do global adjustment on the mouse if you're using the Ripple. I haven't tried it on the App.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    332
    Quote Originally Posted by EYu View Post
    Actually a good question. I had to check too and if I am not mistaken from what I read on their manual, the Master Offset can be accessed as follows:
    From the Bt Panel - Select Menu A -> Select 'Primary' button
    From the Kb Panel - Select Menu B -> Make adjustment using the 'Master Offset' knob

    I stand corrected so if anyone else know please chime in.
    I emailed Tangent support and here is their answer.

    Hi,

    Blackmagic Design have not mapped that control to our panels. Sorry.

    Kind regards,

    Support
    Last edited by Bino; 03-01-2017 at 12:05 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. $350 control panel from tangent
    By m0fe in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-16-2016, 07:36 PM
  2. Resolve 12 - Can I program a right-click Ripple-Delete?
    By DPStewart in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-05-2016, 03:59 PM
  3. Tangent Ripple... $350
    By Tim Hole in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-12-2015, 05:27 AM
  4. TANGENT PANEL KIT COMPLETE (Works with Davinci Resolve)
    By Lumpyramy in forum For Sale / Want to Buy
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-05-2015, 02:16 PM
  5. Tangent Wave Panel and Resolve
    By MelbFilm in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-18-2015, 04:13 AM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •