Thread: new to RAW forma and have some questions

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
  1. #11  
    Senior Member DPStewart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    The Desert
    Posts
    3,068
    Quote Originally Posted by offbeatbryce View Post
    Then how do I determine what format I need for what shoot? Also I edit in a windows computer. Can I edit prores on windows? If so then I can't figure it out. Always gives me error in adobe premirre pro.
    Windows cannot run ProRes without a licence installed, Shoot DNxHR instead, it's basically the exact same thing. You still may have to install the DNx codec on your PC but it's free.

    If you are in locations where you know you will have a lot of good control over your lighting, then DNxHR (ProRes) should work well because you can take the time to make sure your shot looks right before you hit the record button.

    If you are in a hurry, moving setups fast, and don't have the time to set perfect lighting or perfect exposure, then shoot RAW because you have more room to bring the footage back to how you want to see it.
    Cameras: Blackmagic Cinema Camera, Blackmagic Pocket Camera (x2), Panasonic GH2 (x2), Sony RX100 ii, Canon 6D, Canon T2i,
    Mics: Sennheiser, AKG, Shure, Sanken, Audio-Technica, Audix
    Lights: Every Chinese clone you can imagine
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Senior Member Tommy Davis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by DPStewart View Post
    Windows cannot run ProRes without a licence installed, Shoot DNxHR instead, it's basically the exact same thing. You still may have to install the DNx codec on your PC but it's free.

    If you are in locations where you know you will have a lot of good control over your lighting, then DNxHR (ProRes) should work well because you can take the time to make sure your shot looks right before you hit the record button.

    If you are in a hurry, moving setups fast, and don't have the time to set perfect lighting or perfect exposure, then shoot RAW because you have more room to bring the footage back to how you want to see it.
    The new version of Adobe and Resolve circumvented the need to have anything else installed to run ProRes on windows thanks to apple's big security fiasco with Quicktime.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Quote Originally Posted by Tommy Davis View Post
    The new version of Adobe and Resolve circumvented the need to have anything else installed to run ProRes on windows thanks to apple's big security fiasco with Quicktime.
    That's what I thought but I still can't get it to work. Gives me a playback error.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    I was looking at this external recorder that records uncompressed Prores. Is that the same thing as raw? https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...tle_2_SSD.html
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    1,520
    Quote Originally Posted by offbeatbryce View Post
    I was looking at this external recorder that records uncompressed Prores. Is that the same thing as raw? https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...tle_2_SSD.html
    I'm not sure if there is such a thing as uncompressed Prores. If you feel like you need to spend on another hardware, then get the VA instead. IMO, don't let the hardware dictate what you can shoot. You have a lot of thinking to do my friend. Storage is the least of your worry.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    Senior Member DPStewart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    The Desert
    Posts
    3,068
    Quote Originally Posted by offbeatbryce View Post
    I was looking at this external recorder that records uncompressed Prores. Is that the same thing as raw? https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...tle_2_SSD.html
    No.

    This device records compressed codecs ProRes HQ and DNxHD.

    The 'Uncompressed' is only as an HD resolution 4:2:2 QuickTime file. But it only records what comes into it over the SDI input. It just simply doesn't compress it any further.
    Cameras: Blackmagic Cinema Camera, Blackmagic Pocket Camera (x2), Panasonic GH2 (x2), Sony RX100 ii, Canon 6D, Canon T2i,
    Mics: Sennheiser, AKG, Shure, Sanken, Audio-Technica, Audix
    Lights: Every Chinese clone you can imagine
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    160
    Quote Originally Posted by offbeatbryce View Post
    I was looking at this external recorder that records uncompressed Prores. Is that the same thing as raw? https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...tle_2_SSD.html

    No, RAW is unprocessed data straight from the camera sensor, uncompressed ProRes means no additional compression is being applied to a processed signal. This means that whatever sensor data has been discarded in the processing is still gone, but all the data that remains is preserved.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #18  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    14
    Also, I think people downplay how labor intensive shooting RAW is on your computer. I bought a maxxed out brand new 2016 MBP (the one before the newest one) and I still have trouble editing and experimenting with a lot of RAW footage. I shot my first music video in RAW and decided to never shoot RAW again. RAW slows my workflow speed down by an easy 30-40%
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #19  
    Let's say I shoot Raw on SD cards and prores on external. Can I edit everything in prores in Adobe premiere then re link the prores files to raw?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #20  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    1,520
    Bryce, I understand what you are trying to get to but I think it is detrimental to device a workflow to work around for getting to just capturing raw. I suggest you try ProRes HQ in film mode and see how much you can work with it. You might just end up liking it. If you insist in BMD cameras 4K in Raw, then buy this and 2 1tb Samsung Evo SSD and your storage problem to shoot 5 hrs or more of raw 4k will be solved.


    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...st_to_ssd.html

    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...o_1tb_2_5.html
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. Few Questions ...
    By martinmcgreal in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-14-2016, 02:22 PM
  2. DP7 Pro LCD questions.
    By Eric Hasso in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 09-11-2014, 06:59 PM
  3. Questions about BMCC EF: battery life and base plate extension questions
    By karoliinasalmin in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-29-2013, 12:44 PM
  4. Your questions
    By yoclay in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 09-08-2012, 12:37 PM
  5. Questions
    By Phil in forum DaVinci Resolve
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-10-2012, 01:50 PM
Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •