Thread: new to RAW forma and have some questions

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1 new to RAW forma and have some questions 
    Hello,

I currently shoot on Canon Xa25 cameras which shoot in the compressed format of AVCHD. I would really like to save my money to get a BlackMagic Camera that Shoots RAW 4k. I'm a total newb at this RAW format and have some questions.

1. What is better to record in? RAW Uncompressed or Compressed Raw? Can I still bring out the detail in post productions with Compressed Raw just as well as if I shot in Uncompressed RAW?

2. Is either RAW format the same thing as 2K, 4k etc or is that different?

3. What about storage capacity? Can I shoot up to say 5 hours of a concert on one SDHC card using Uncompressed RAW or Compressed Raw, 4k etc or do i need a different storage system?

4. Is the IRE levels the same? Like is the 75 percent skin tone or the black level still at 0 with a black magic camera?

I think that's all the questions for now. If I think of More I will add.

Thanks,

Bryce

These are all super super basic questions that are much better answered by internet searches, where you can often find good explanatory videos. Probably on every topic you just asked about.
    Cameras: Blackmagic Cinema Camera, Blackmagic Pocket Camera (x2), Panasonic GH2 (x2), Sony RX100 ii, Canon 6D, Canon T2i,
    Mics: Sennheiser, AKG, Shure, Sanken, Audio-Technica, Audix
    Lights: Every Chinese clone you can imagine

With raw CDNG files you are looking at massively larger amounts of data, even compressed. Uncompressed 2k raw data runs about 3.5MB PER FRAME. The 500GB SSD in my Digital Bolex stores about 90 minutes of footage. The BMC cameras record to SSD or Cfast cards. 4k uncompressed is 4 times that amount of data. Ursa mini specs show 513MB/sec for 4k uncompressed raw.

Quote Originally Posted by offbeatbryce View Post
    Hello,