Thread: Culling footage before giving to an editor

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1 Culling footage before giving to an editor 
    Hi, I have a project I am working on with a good editor I have worked with in the past. This project is a bit budget restricted, so I would like to give my editor just the best parts of my footage to speed things up and save on his time.

    In the past I have just given him a whole pile of footage, he has transcoded it and used Avid to cull it himself and edit the files.

    How can I cull my footage? I have shot some footage with my ursa mini, some with my sony and some with my inspire x5 drone. If I edit it down in - say - in resolve, i would need to output it into some other format? But I don't want to edit, just cull, and i would like to keep the footage in its original state.

    How can I do this? didn't quicktime pro 7 do this? Or is there another good way to do this? (easy, as I don't want to learn anything too hard!)

    Thanks Paul
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member DPStewart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    The Desert
    Posts
    3,020
    Sounds like the most universal method would be exporting the EDL. Give them that along with the footage.

    Alternatively if you are working with BMD RAW - I was told that Resolve can re-export your culled footage as RAW files again. I've never tried it though.
    Cameras: Blackmagic Cinema Camera, Blackmagic Pocket Camera (x2), Panasonic GH2 (x2), Sony RX100 ii, Canon 6D, Canon T2i,
    Mics: Sennheiser, AKG, Shure, Sanken, Audio-Technica, Audix
    Lights: Every Chinese clone you can imagine
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Quote Originally Posted by DPStewart View Post
    Sounds like the most universal method would be exporting the EDL. Give them that along with the footage.

    Alternatively if you are working with BMD RAW - I was told that Resolve can re-export your culled footage as RAW files again. I've never tried it though.
    thanks for this. i really don't know much about EDL's, although I know that is what my editor edits with.
    I will do some reading and run a test with him. So could I edit/ cull the EDL in another program like resolve and give that to him to edit in AVID?

    Cheers Paul
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    6
    Reply With Quote  
     

Similar Threads

  1. List of hardware/environment combos giving the worst moire
    By DPStewart in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 07-31-2015, 10:27 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-17-2015, 08:25 AM
  3. Glitch in footage, only in editor, not source file
    By marshallbaker in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-15-2014, 06:47 PM
  4. Paralinx Giving Away Free Exhibit Entrance Passes to NAB 2014
    By DanKanes in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-20-2014, 06:17 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-04-2013, 02:17 PM
Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •