Thread: GRADE MY DNG thread

Page 55 of 59 FirstFirst ... 5455354555657 ... LastLast
Results 541 to 550 of 584
  1. #541  
    Senior Member LochnessDigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    567
    Aaron Lochert
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #542  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    110
    Interesting, you got back all the information that I tried to hide in the shadows! This would be very noisy in motion sadly...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #543  
    Senior Member LochnessDigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    567
    Really? I even added grain, it looked fairly clean back there. But of course, I didn't see it in motion.

    I also just recently re-calibrated my monitor and I'm wondering if it maybe came out too dark, causing me to brighten things up too much. My graded version above still looks dark and moody to my eye. Viewed on my phone, it looks terribly bright. Your version looks better to me on my phone - about the same brightness I was going for in my grade.

    Time to do some investigating into my color situation...
    Aaron Lochert
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #544  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    243
    Beatiful grade, AAron. Here is my test...justtttatestttt_1.1.1.jpg
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #545  
     

  6. #546  
    Senior Member LochnessDigital's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    567
    Redid the monitor calibration. I must have been targeting the wrong gamma or something. So here's the same grade with an exposure fix.

    Aaron Lochert
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #547  
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    78
    I just went through this entire thread in one sitting. love it. can't wait to take whack at some dngs.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #548  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    462
    Here's my go off it really great to be able to practise, cheers.

    grade 3_1.1.5.jpg

    If I had studio resolve I'd probably remove some of the chroma noise and leave the luma and it's a shame that it loses a lot of quality once it's uploaded.

    edit - does anyone else feel compelled to look at your grade 10 thousand times and change it?
    Last edited by Ryanite; 05-18-2018 at 01:41 AM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #549  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Virginia, US
    Posts
    747
    You can remove chroma noise in the free version too. I usually do it as the last node by converting the color space to YUV (Right click -> Color Space -> YUV) and using the sharpening tab to blur it.

    Edit: You have to disable channel 1 on the node too.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #550  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    462
    Quote Originally Posted by PeopleCanFly View Post
    You can remove chroma noise in the free version too. I usually do it as the last node by converting the color space to YUV (Right click -> Color Space -> YUV) and using the sharpening tab to blur it.

    Edit: You have to disable channel 1 on the node too.
    Does that not also soften the entire image?

    Secondary question. I have one old monitor and one newer montior that I trust more. New one is the dell ultrasharp said to be calibrated for 99% rec 709. Do I ignore how terrible the image looks on the old monitor because it looks great on the new one OR do I try to find a middle ground seeing as many people might be using monitors much like my old one?
    Reply With Quote  
     

Tags for this Thread

View Tag Cloud

Bookmarks
Bookmarks
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •